top of page

SUSTY BIRTHDAY GIFT GUIDE

It's my birthday coming up (can't believe I'm getting so OLD!) and it inspired me to think about sustainable gift-giving. So, if you're stuck on what to get someone and want to be better for the planet, this guide is for you!!!


  • REUSABLES - everyone loves a good reusable, see which of these would fit into their life (make sure they would actually use it!)

    • Reusable water bottles (BOTL, Chillys)

    • Reusable coffee cup (BOTL)

    • Reusable shopping bags (bonus points for ones that fold up into a mini package!)

    • Beeswax wraps

    • Straws

    • Lunchboxes

  • KITS - again, make sure this would actually be of use to them first!

    • Camping kits complete with cutlery, bamboo toothbrushes, reusable face cloths, silicone food bags

    • Zero-waste cocktail kits - with a book full of resourceful cocktail ideas!

    • Sewing kits to help them mend their clothing!

  • PLANTS & SEEDS

    • Indoor plants to spice up the living space!

    • Herb kits

    • Seeds for the garden

    • Mini pots to start growing veg

  • EXPERIENCES - my personal fave!

    • Theatre tickets

    • Race tickets if you're into running/sports (this is what I got for my birthday from my lovely friend Katy!!)

    • Concert tickets

    • Sports game tickets

    • Plan a day out!

    • Spa day

    • Hiking trips

    • Afternoon tea

    • Cooking classes

    • Painting classes

  • UPCYCLED OR HANDMADE GIFTS - this is always appreciated as it's so thoughtful!

    • Getting crafty with a crochet hook

    • Painting something

    • Pottery

    • Upcycled jewellery

    • Personalising a candle

    • Painting a plant pot

  • BOOKS - finding a secondhand gem can be so meaningful for the book lover in your life!

    • Secondhand books

    • Vintage classics (especially if it's their fave)

    • Share books you love

    • Get them a gift card to buy some e-books

  • SHOP SMALL BUSINESSES!

    • The best gifts I've found have been from Etsy!

    • Search for something they love (e.g., Pride and Prejudice) and see what cool things pop up (I found a Pride and Prejudice soy-wax candle once with the most beautiful packaging and scent!)


Shopping sustainable will require a bit of extra planning to give you time for shipping or creating things but it is so rewarding, thoughtful, and better for the planet!!

Recent Posts

See All

10 simple ways to reduce your plastic usage!

Unfortunately, plastic is pretty unavoidable in our current world, but I strongly believe that small changes can make a huge difference in sustainability. So, if you're just starting to make the switc

IMG_5118.HEIC

hey, thanks for reading!!!

I love sharing information, tips, and tricks about living a sustainable lifestyle so I hope you enjoy reading my posts as much as I love writing them! 

I'm all ears about what you want to see on this website so message me with ideas and I'll do my best to make them come to life :)) 

lots of love xx

  • Instagram
IMG_2468_edited.jpg
528664c1cbb166ff3a35ab125fb25302_edited.
IMG_3151_edited.jpg
IMG_5904_edited.jpg

© 2023 by Lyd Sustainable Living. Powered by WordPress

bottom of page